Skip to content

Family Book Club: The Chronicles of Narnia - The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe

By The ThriftBooks Book Club • January 17, 2022

Those who felt inspired by our first Family Book Club post will be excited to read its continuation. As you and your family delve into The Magician's Nephew, you might look ahead and start making plans for the next entry in The Chronicles of Narnia series — The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. ThriftBooks has everything you need to keep your Family Book Club going and prepare you for engaging book club discussions.

The Chronicles of Narnia Reading Order

Though The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe was the first publication in The Chronicles of Narnia, it is often considered the second entry in the series. C. S. Lewis wrote the novels out of order, and if a reader wishes to complete the series in chronological order of when events take place, they should read the books in the following order:

The Chronicles of Narnia — The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (May Include Spoilers)

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe takes place several years after The Magician's Nephew in World War II-era in England. In an attempt to escape the threat of the London Blitz, four siblings—Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy—are sent to the English countryside. Here, they live with Professor Digory Kirke in a large house that invites exploration. The youngest sibling, Lucy, is most interested in exploring the new home—and her explorations lead her to an absolutely empty room with the exception of a single piece of furniture: a large wardrobe. The children quickly discover that the wardrobe has magical properties that lead them to the magical land of Narnia. A land full of magic where animals can talk and all are ruled by the wise Lion Aslan.

Through their journey of exploring the magical world, the four siblings uncover that Narnia is being ruled by the evil White Witch that they must defeat using their strength and fulfill their destinies to become the new rulers of Narnia. Through their journey, the four siblings learn valuable lessons about good and evil, the importance of friendship and family, fighting for what they believe in, courage, and honesty.

Discover Narnia Through The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is one of the most well-known books of the Narnia series and is regarded by many as the first book in the series. Reading the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe first will provide readers with the most authentic experience of The Chronicles of Narnia novels. Additionally, with several popular film adaptations, you can expand your family's book club experience by watching the movie after and discussing the film as well.

Suggested Book Club Discussion Strategies

image of discussion questionsBook club questions are one of the most important parts of your family book club. Consider these inquiries to prompt further introspection when reading The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe as a family:

  1. How does Professor Digory Kirke represent logic? How does this relate to our conception of Narnia?
  2. How and why does Edmund change throughout the events of the story?
  3. What is Mr. Tumnus arrested for? Do you think that his arrest was fair?
  4. What does Aslan teach Lucy when he's explaining the power of the fire-flower juice?
  5. What does the arrival of Father Christmas signify?
  6. Why would Aslan sacrifice his life for Edmund?
  7. The White Witch punishes her enemies by turning them into stone. Is this a good representation of justice?
  8. Do you relate the most to Lucy, Peter, Susan, or Edmund? Why?
  9. Edmund eventually earns the title of "Edmund the Just." What has he done to earn this reputation?
  10. How do you see the contrast between skepticism and faith represented throughout the story?

You can view and download these discussion questions in a printable sheet here.

Sample Reading Timeline

Here's a sample reading timeline to help you and your family divide the chapters and meet to discuss what happened.

Week One: Chapters 1-3
Week Two: Chapters 4-6
Week Three: Chapters 7-9
Week Four: Chapters 10-12
Week Five: Chapters 13-15
Week Six: Chapters 16-17

Read more by The ThriftBooks Book Club

Leave a Comment

Related Subjects

Copyright © 2023 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell/Share My Personal Information | Cookie Policy | Cookie Preferences | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured