Skip to content
Paperback The Ticket Out Book

ISBN: 0156029057

ISBN13: 9780156029056

The Ticket Out

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Like New

$5.29
Save $7.71!
List Price $13.00

1 Available

Book Overview

Ann Whitehead is sick of her job. She's a movie critic for a counterculture rag in Los Angeles and she needs a break badly. Instead of a break, she gets a murder.

Customer Reviews

5 ratings

A Great Noir Novel

In the tradition of Chandler and Marlowe this is a great read-a modern noir novel for chicks. I couldn't put it down. The narrator is a wonderful, complex character and the plot and subplots keep the novel moving. Knode paints a vivid picture of Hollywood-then and now- and leaves the reader wanting more. For fans of mysteries and suspense, it doesn't get much better.

great book

I suppose it depends what you like. Another reviewer criticized it for being too long, too complicated, and too demanding of the reader. Just the sort of review to send me directly to the book, if i hadn't already read it. So yes, if you like books that are short, have big print, and leave you feeling like you just ate cotton candy, this is not for you. I, however, love books that are long and complex. I loved the movie industry history, I loved the LA history, I enjoyed the main character. She needs to have a more fully-formed character, but the beginnings are there, I think. I did find the interaction of Ann with her father and sister to be a bit jarring; I 'm not sure whether it was because his full-blown awfulness didn't seem to fit with the rest of the characters or whether he seemed like an afterthought. But still, a great book.

I actually enjoyed this book

While I have read many criticisms of Knode's first novel, I really enjoyed reading it. Although the ending may have been disappointing, I don't think Knode wants you to know the end of the story yet, or she wants you to imagine your own ending. I think it's true that there will probably be a sequel. I did find some of the characters hard to keep straight sometimes, but I think the story of the murder was woven together very thoughtfully and I was always looking forward to find out what happened next.

HOLLYWOOD NOIR - WITH A DIFFERENCE

Meet Ann Whitehead. A Hollywood movie critic with a problem or two. She hates all modern Hollywood movies. And there's a voluptuous corpse in her bathtub. That's just for openers. It gets better. Hollywood noir updated to the new millenium. A female protagonist with attitude, and an astonishing new voice. To all the actresses moaning that no one ever writes good parts for women these days, read this book. To anyone wondering what it's like inside the head of the woman who tamed James Ellroy, read this book. To every fan of LA crime stories, read this book. Helen Knode's first novel is a gem. Dig it!

Is there competition in the Ellroy house?

I am so excited with the surge of talented authors publishing in 2003 to compliment such greats like Lehane and Pelecanos all with new titles scheduled for release in spring and early summer. Among the lot I have read so far, and definitely will be on the list of Best of 2003 is The Ticket Out by Helen Knode of LA Weekly fame. The once alternative newspaper's movie critic turns out a stylish novel of crime that plays like a movie inside the mind's internal screen, very vivid images et al.The story opens with Ann Whitehead, movie critic for a counterculture newspaper restlessly watching a new "Hollywood Blockbuster" .starring a megastar that she has no interest in. She walks out, bored tired angry with the movies that are being made today, but worn Nordic beauty. An odd exchange takes place between them, leaving a strong impression with Ann. Later, Greta is found murdered in Ann's bathtub whilst Ann is asleep upstairs in the mansion. Her murder becomedisliki ng her job, In the same way Ann is meant to write her story, I believe this is the story Helen Knode was meant to write. It is a wonderful foundation upon which to build a fruitful lengthy career.Knode knows well the turf she speaks of and the roads of Los Angeles she travels down. She surrounds Ann with real flesh and blood both literally and figuratively, her family and friends, the LAPD and detectives, using the chase to catch the murderer to show Ann's growth. I personally enjoyed Knode's mention of my old alma mater, along with places I know & go, and enjoyed seeing them through Ann's eyes.This thriller has all the ingredients of an instant winner, among readers collectors and surely the Hollywood in-crowd, and without a doubt some producer will come knocking.This is another of those: DO NOT MENTION THE ENDING!! I am waiting to read whatever this woman writes next, with a secret hope there's more to The Ticket Out.And one more thing, Helen Knode doesn't need any help from her talented world -renowned husband James Ellroy for whom the work is dedicated. This novel is fabulous!
Copyright © 2022 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured