Skip to content
Paperback War Girls Book

ISBN: 0451481690

ISBN13: 9780451481696

War Girls

(Book #1 in the War Girls Series)

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$7.39
Save $4.60!
List Price $11.99

1 Available

Book Overview

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria. The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky. In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the...

Related Subjects

Fiction Teen & Young Adult

Customer Reviews

2 ratings

Wow!

Set in the far distant future of 2172, two sisters are dreaming of more than the years long civil war that is all they have known. This story is a sci-fi set in a future version of Nigeria, but although it is set in the future, this story was actually inspired by the Nigerian Civil War which was in 1967. I loved so much stuff about this book! There can never be too many stories about sisters! I fell in love with Onyii and Ify, the main characters. Much of the sci-fi elements and world building felt fresh and were really well done. I did feel like the plot and pacing could have been polished a little bit. Overall, I really enjoyed this book, and look forward to seeing more once the sequel comes out.

You should read it

The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky. In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life. Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together. And they're willing to fight an entire war to get there. Acclaimed author Tochi Onyebuchi has written an immersive, action-packed, deeply personal novel perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Marie Lu, and Paolo Bacigalupi. How cool of a concept is that? I just recently got a copy of this and I'm so excited to read it.
Copyright © 2022 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured