Skip to content
Hardcover These Violent Delights Book

ISBN: 1534457690

ISBN13: 9781534457690

These Violent Delights

(Part of the These Violent Delights (#1) Series and Secret Shanghai (#1) Series)

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Recommended

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Very Good

$6.99
Save $13.00!
List Price $19.99
Only 10 Left

Book Overview

An Instant New York Times Bestseller
A BuzzFeed Best Young Adult Book of 2020

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Serpent & Dove, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud...

Customer Reviews

1 rating

Great Retelling of a Classic

Oh, my word. That was brilliant. The writing was gorgeous. The plot was amazing. It was a great take on the Romeo and Juliet story. I liked that the characters had more history than in the original story. It was a bit gruesome with the monster and all, but I managed through it. Overall, a fantastic story. I can't wait to pick up the second book.

These Violent Delights Mentions in Our Blog

These Violent Delights in America's Favorite Book Boyfriend Is…
America's Favorite Book Boyfriend Is…
Published by Amanda Cleveland • February 06, 2024

Last month, in a survey conducted by OnePoll on behalf of ThriftBooks, 2,000 romance novel lovers shared their thoughts and opinions about the genre and their favorite characters. Read on to see what we learned about Romance vs. Real Life.

These Violent Delights in 'Taylored' Reads for Swifties!
'Taylored' Reads for Swifties!
Published by Ashly Moore Sheldon • July 30, 2023

As Taylor Swift's famously sold-out Eras Tour continues to draw record crowds around the world, we decided to round up a set of books to go with every album. If you’re a Swifty, you’ll want to get in on this action.

These Violent Delights in 22 July Releases We're Excited About
22 July Releases We're Excited About
Published by Ashly Moore Sheldon • June 27, 2023

No matter how long our TBR lists get, we're always finding new titles we want to add! Here are 22 exciting July releases available for preorder, along with suggestions for similar reads you can enjoy right away.

These Violent Delights in Top Tropes of Romance Literature: Mafia Edition
Top Tropes of Romance Literature: Mafia Edition
Published by Ashly Moore Sheldon • February 10, 2022

The fact that romance novels often employ familiar tropes doesn’t make them any less enjoyable. In fact, some of us never tire of certain delicious scenarios like retribution romances or arranged marriages. Here we review some of the top tropes in mafia romances.

These Violent Delights in 15 November Book Releases We're Excited About
15 November Book Releases We're Excited About
Published by Ashly Moore Sheldon • October 26, 2021

Our TBR piles may be taller than we are, but that doesn’t stop us from browsing (and buying!) new books! Here are fifteen exciting November releases available for preorder, along with suggestions for similar reads you can pick up right now.

Copyright © 2023 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell/Share My Personal Information | Cookie Policy | Cookie Preferences | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured