Skip to content
Paperback The House at Tyneford Book

ISBN: 0452297648

ISBN13: 9780452297647

The House at Tyneford

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Like New

$4.79
Save $11.21!
List Price $16.00

2 Available

Book Overview

Fans of Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden and TV ' s Downton Abbey will love this sweeping New York Times bestselling historical novel of love and loss. The start of an affair, the end of an era... It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where...

Customer Reviews

2 ratings

Pretty good

This is the second book I’ve read by Natasha Solomons, the first being House of Gold. This is a lovely story, and as with House of Gold, the language used is quite beautiful and the descriptors effective; the reader is really able to feel the characters’ emotions. The storyline is creative, sometimes heart-wrenching and sometimes humorous. That being said, I didn’t like it nearly as well as House of Gold. The main love story lacked something for me...I think I just wasn’t convinced by it; the secondary love story, however, was much more satisfying in my opinion. Overall, I would recommend it, though I’d definitely steer someone more toward House of Gold for a truly incredible story. Perhaps it was because I was so impressed by House of Gold that this one wasn’t quite as profound for me.

Unforgettable

Just finished this amazing book! I found myself in tears as I read the last word because I didn't want the story to be over! Truly one of the best books I've ever read! The author is so descriptive of her characters, settings, and plot that you feel as if you are present in the midst of it all!
Copyright © 2022 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured