Skip to content
Paperback The City of Brass Book

ISBN: 0062678116

ISBN13: 9780062678119

The City of Brass

(Book #1 in the The Daevabad Trilogy Series)

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: New

$16.38
Save $1.61!
List Price $17.99

50 Available

Book Overview

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Library Journal - Vulture - The Verge - SYFYWire * Finalist for the World Fantasy Award: Best Novel *Nominated for the Locus Award: Best First Novel *Finalist for the British Fantasy Award: Best Newcomer Step into The City of Brass , the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty perfect for fans of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings , and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern...

Customer Reviews

2 ratings

Did not receive what was listed

I ordered a hardcover like-new edition. I received a beat-up paperback ARC copy. Not impressed.

Exceeded expectations

You will not regret purchasing this book! From chapter two (which takes no time to get to) it was hard to put down. S. A. Chakraborty has a gift for vivid description without overusing words to make you see into her world. The world building was amazing, the pacing perfect, the action fast paced, and a few times I found myself laughing out loud, cringing at the naivety of Ali, or gasping at something totally unexpected befalling a major character. Although it does not end on a cliffhanger (in my opinion), there are several questions posed that need to be answered in the sequels. I look forward to finding out! What I also liked is that, without trying too hard, the author makes you care for the characters without knowing everything there is to know about them just yet. Things I disliked: there was some “tell instead of show” regarding the development of relationships between characters. We’d be in a moment and then told in so many words that weeks have gone by and now they care for each other when it would’ve been cool to see that slowly develop throughout the book. I did like how strong the female lead is, how human-like Dara was, and how the plot was not easy to predict. Can’t wait to devour book two!

The City of Brass Mentions in Our Blog

The City of Brass in Bone Up on Shadow and Bone
Bone Up on Shadow and Bone
Published by Ashly Moore Sheldon • April 19, 2021

Shadow and Bone, volume one of the bestselling fantasy trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, has been adapted into a new Netflix series premiering on April 23. It is the story of Alina Starkov, a teenage orphan whose life is transformed when she unexpectedly harnesses a power she never knew she had in order to save her best friend.

Copyright © 2020 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured