Skip to content
Paperback Clive Barker's A-Z of Horror Book

ISBN: 0563371528

ISBN13: 9780563371526

Clive Barker's A-Z of Horror

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$10.29

2 Available

Book Overview

This description may be from another edition of this product. A volume compiled from the BBC television miniseries offers a personal tour of the real stories and people who inspired Barker's work, from serial killers and rebel artists to legendary monsters and...

Customer Reviews

5 ratings

Gems of Information at a Glance

I join the ranks of those who have given high praise to this superb, vibrant compilation of facts and other curious oddities about horror in books and film. The layout design is graphically pleasing with dozens of photos and illustrations in both black and white and color. These are attractively aired with white space on the pages and, though interesting in themselves, never compete or distract from the text. Essential bibliographic data or curious informational tidbits are smartly set in gray screen and/or block frames. All of these design elements make for a highly attractive book but, most importantly, aid in gleaning facts at quick glance. In fact, much of the book's design strategies help disguise the fact there is an abundance of information that might seem tedious or less interesting if presented less imaginatively. The book is actually quite dense with facts, dates, and quotes--all visually displayed in a palatable, readily accessible presentation. Though this reviewer has not seen the acclaimed BBC television series to which this book is the official companion, he suspects it to be equally energetic and ambitious in its presentation; and the inspirational basis for the book's high-concept, stunning design. A detailed index gives added value to this concisely written, well-organized guide to the best horrific frights in cinema and print.

It really looks amazing! Great layout.

This is an excellent book about all things horror, but is mostly concerned about books and movies. I got this book after flicking through the pages in the local bookstore and was taken aback by the wonderful layout and colorful images of what Clive Barker has to tell us about the world of horror. It is completely illustrated from start to finish and has lots of art work from Barker himself and there is plenty to read about in between images and pictures of all things diabolical.Essentially the book donates a few pages to each letter of the alphabet like "M" is for "Murder" and then Barker starts ranting about that topic in as many of its different forms as he sees fit - however the book is primarily written by Stephen Jones, but there is plenty of Barker inside. There is lots and lots of references to artists, writers, actors, filmmakers, makeup artists and directors. Barker also talks about real life horror with such topics as Ed Gein the serial killer.I would highly recommend this volume of work to anyone who wants to know more about horror. By flicking through the pages they will come across lots and lots of things that they would probably like to know more about. Whenever I am thinking about buying a horror movie or a horror novel I always turn to this guide to see what Barker or Jones recommend. As a horror writer Barker is into the whole scene and is never short of coming up with something interesting that you might like to know more about.This is highly recommended companion guide to all things horror. The book is really well designed and you will find yourself turning to it time and time again.

My horror bible

What an excellent book, I'm so glad I bought this. It covers the likes of horrors such as PSYCHO, DERANGED, TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE, EXORCIST, HALLOWEEN, NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET...ETC. Very interesting and informal, I recommend this book.

THIS BOOK IS GREAT STUFF BODIA DEMOS DEMOS

HEY DEMOS, I LIKE THIS BOOK, RIGHT DEMOS GELFAND? OK DEMOS, I'LL SEE YOU LATER

A private tour insider Clive Barker's psyche!

It's a drop-dead gorgeous book, a primal primer of Clive Barker's inspirations, imaginings and id. A ghastly glimspe of genius skating that thin line of insanity. A must reference for fans of Night Breed and Hell Raiser, you will be enthralled by the alphabetical approach to horror. Poster art, sketches and photos flesh out the interesting tidbits of terror. Wait! Was that the wind or a hellhound outside my door? Shivers of pleasure await dear reader...
Copyright © 2020 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured