Skip to content
Hardcover 8 Sandpiper Way (Cedar Cove) Book

ISBN: 0739499858

ISBN13: 9780739499856

8 Sandpiper Way (Cedar Cove)

(Book #8 in the Cedar Cove Series)

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon


Format: Hardcover

Condition: Very Good


1 Available

Book Overview

This description may be from another edition of this product. Dear Reader, I have something to confide in you. I think my husband, Dave, might be having an affair. I found an earring in his pocket, and it's not mine. I'm also worried because some jewelry was...

Customer Reviews

5 ratings

My mother...

was looking for a good book to read and we were lucky enough to find Debbie Macomber! I know she loves her writing style a great deal!

Love this series

I love Debbie's Cedar Cove series (as well as her Blossom Street series) and this book did not fail to deliver. It was like returning home to visit old friends, and making some new ones as well. I like how Debbie's cedar Cove books involve more than one storyline. I realize for some readers this can be confusing, but for me it breaks up the monotony of a book. I think spending an entire book reading about Olivia's cancer, or Emily's distrust of her husband would get tiresome; but by interspersing other stories in the book the author keeps it interesting. And she sets up more storylines for the books to follow. Some readers have complained about being confused with so many different characters, but I don't find it that hard to follow at all. She gives us enough background in each book to jog our memories and if you really find yourself struggling you can always refer to the list of characters she has in the front of the book. I don't mind that she's bringing in new characters because I think it keeps the series fresh. After all, the main families (Grace and her girls, and Olivia and her kids) are married and married couples with kids don't always make for the most interesting storylines. Once you've done the usual...pregnancy problems, infidelity problems, health crises...there isn't much left to talk about. And you can't throw too much at the characters or it starts to become unbelievable so I think introducing new ones to keep the series fresh was a smart move. I will admit that Debbie tends to spoon feed her audience. For example, when two characters are sitting down to have tea Debbie will go into more detail than other authors might about the selection of the tea, and the significance of the tea cups they use. And instead of having the conversation just jump right to the point she will have her characters talk about more mundane things first, and recap events from past stories, before she gets to the heart of the matter. But this is Ms. Macomber's writing style. Anyone who has read more than two books by her knows that this is the way she writes...whether it is Cedar Cove or Blossom Street. If this is not the kind of writing style you like then you should probably stay away from her books. Another complaint I frequently see is that she tends to "recap" a lot about past books and this can get irritating. From an author's standpoint, I understand why she does it. She is very successful but, like any author, she would always like to broaden her audience. If someone picks up the series in book 8 and has no idea what the characters are talking about then they are likely to lose interest. But if Debbie gives them just enough information to get them interested in the characters then they may just go ahead and read books 1-7. It makes sense from a marketing standpoint. I will admit that sometimes these recaps seem to come out of left when a character is talking to someone and then they will think of how "that reminded me of...." (w

8 Sandpiper Way (Cedar Cove Book #8)

I have read all of Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove series and have througly enjoyed each one... With each series I feel like I am visiting old friends. I am looking forward to her Cedar Cove Cook Book when it becomes available this summer.

Another great addition to the Cedar Cove series

Book number eight in the "Cedar Cove" series has proven to be as heartwarming as the previous seven. Emily Flemming suspects her pastor husband, Dave, is having an affair. He is never home and does not appear as attentive as before. When Emily finds a pair of diamond earrings in Dave's suit jacket, she is almost certain there is another woman, but she is too afraid to confront him with her suspicions. Instead she imagines the worst and lets her thoughts run away with her. When Emily finally confronts Dave about her suspicions, he breaks down and insists he is not seeing another woman, but has been working a second job to cover their mounting expenses. When she shows him the earrings she found in his jacket, he is dumbfounded and does not understand how they got there. When they learn the elderly woman he had been visiting prior to her death had several items of jewelry that were reported as missing, Dave, fearful that he would be arrested for the theft of the jewelry and at Emily's insistence, went to his friend Roy McAfee, a private investigator, to talk to him. Roy insisted he go to the sheriff, and Dave is ready to believe everyone will find him guilty, though he has not done anything wrong. Soon the real thief is revealed and Dave's good name remains unblemished. Meanwhile we get a peek into the lives of other residents: Judge Olivia Griffin learns she has breast cancer and needs surgery. Ben Rhodes and Charlotte, Olivia's mother, want to cancel their cruise, so Charlotte can be with her daughter, but Olivia is adamant they go. She insists husband Jack, best friend Grace, and daughter Justine will stay close by her. Terri Polgar realizes her sister Christie cares deeply for James Wilbur, Terri's husband's chauffeur, though Christie does not feel she deserves a decent man, for she has always hooked up with alcoholics and losers who have used and abused her. And, Sheriff Troy Davis aches to rekindle his relationship with his old high school sweetheart, Faith Beckwith. When his daughter Meagan found he was dating so soon after her mother passed away and after she had suffered a miscarriage, she made such a stink, that Troy thought it better to sever their relationship, even though they both hold deep feelings for each other. Then unbeknownst to Troy, Meagan befriends Faith and insists he date her, but time will tell what will happen with their relationship. Ms. Macomber has again touched our hearts with her ongoing series. She has an uncanny knack for drawing the reader into this little town of Cedar Cove, getting us to know the residents intimately, and making us feel like a member of the family.

My favorite Author

My only complaint is that it takes too long for the books to come out.
Copyright © 2020 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured