Skip to content

What To Read Next

By Megara Sanderson • January 17, 2018

According to Google, there are about 130 million books published in modern history worldwide—and that estimated number is now seven years old! How can you possibly decide what to read next with so many options (and so little time)? If you are looking for book recommendations, we at ThriftBooks have you covered. Here is a list of eight user- and introvert-friendly book recommendation tools available on the Internet so you know what to add next to your ThriftBooks shopping cart.

  1. Are you asking yourself, "What should I read next?" Head on over to the aptly named WhatShouldIReadNext.com website. Type a favorite book or author in the site's search bar, click on the title or author that you love, and a list of recommendations from the WhatShouldIReadNext database will appear based on your personal favorites.
  2. Flashlight Worthy is a fun database with hundreds of recommendations and book lists, some rather quirky. Whether it's a book on how to raise urban chickens, books that make your brain melt (in a good way), or books on how to achieve immortality, Flashlight Worthy has you covered.
  3. This list would not be complete without mentioning the ever-popular GoodReads: a social media website for bibliophiles. If you aren't on GoodReads, you will want to be. Stay up to date on what your friends are reading, follow authors with GoodReads accounts, enter in book giveaways, peruse countless book lists, or join a discussion group! One of my favorite GoodReads groups is called Books I Loathed, where members "kvetch (cleanly, please) about books they absolutely hated," and others respond.
  4. LibraryThing is an alternative book-lover social media site that helps you find books you may want to read and catalog what you've already read. Be sure to check out their clever help page written in haiku.
  5. Choose four characteristics of the next book you want to read on WhichBook and they will show you a list of suggested books based on your preferences. Want a bleak, unpredictable, beautiful book that's larger than life? You can search for that on WhichBook.
  6. One of my new favorite social media apps is called Litsy. The easiest way to describe this app is probably "the Instagram for book lovers." There are hundreds of interesting users to follow, including librarians and booksellers. On Litsy, you can see what other people are reading, add your own thoughts, see what's new in the literary world, or share a "shelfie" (a selfie taken with your favorite bookshelf)!
  7. Book news websites. Websites like The New York Times, Huffington Post, BuzzFeed, and NPR all have up-to-date lists of bestsellers and reviews to help you pick out your next read and see what's new with your favorite authors.
  8. And finally... ThriftBooks, of course! Watch our website to see what our current bestsellers are and what just arrived in stock, peruse our beautiful collectible shelves, or follow our blog to see what interesting reads we find for you!


About the Author: Megara Sanderson was a late-blooming bibliomaniac. As a young girl, it was pulling teeth to get her to read. By the time she landed her first job working in a library, however, she was stealthily reading books during math class and reading any books that her parents forbade. These days Megara is a treasure hunter, also known as a Vintage Book Receiver, for ThriftBooks. She lives in Connecticut. Megara loves foreign languages, that old book smell, and long walks on the beach.

Read more by Megara Sanderson

Leave a Comment

Related Subjects

Bibliophiles | Guest_Blog
Copyright © 2022 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured