Skip to content

Today's the Day for Romance!

10 Books Like November 9 by Colleen Hoover

By Ashly Moore Sheldon • November 08, 2022

November 9 is more than just today's date. It's also the title of a heart-wrenching romance by BookTok star Colleen Hoover. Fallon and Ben make a once-in-a-lifetime connection the day before a cross-country move will separate them indefinitely. They decide to meet once a year on the date they met. Over the years, their connection evolves amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their separate lives. It's a compelling story—and a popular one! Here are ten romances incorporating similar themes.

Once-A-Year Lovers

It's a hot premise: A pair of lovers who burn for each other constantly, but only come together for one fiery tryst each year. Here are five books about couples whose anniversary celebration is singularly significant.

One Day by David Nicholls
November 9 pays tribute to this 2009 novel, which was adapted into a 2011 movie starring Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess. One of the characters in CoHo's book even mentions this story, which revisits the relationship between Dexter and Emma once a year on the day they met, July 15.

28 Summers by Elin Hilderbrand
Inspired by the classic film Same Time Next Year, this is the story of a couple having a secret affair, meeting for one weekend a year across several decades. The novel explores the dramatic ways this relationship complicates and enriches their lives, and the lives of the people they love.

People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry
Although they are best friends and take a glorious vacation together every year, a romantic relationship between Alex and Poppy seems impossible. They're too different. But when something comes between them and Alex stops talking to her, Poppy realizes that she doesn't want to live without him.

This Time Next Year by Sophie Cousens
This story is a little different than the others. Like ships passing in the night, Minnie and Quinn have never met, despite the fact that they were born minutes apart in the same London hospital. When they meet by chance on their shared 30th birthday, it's the culmination of a lifetime of missed chances.

Hate to Want You by Alisha Rai
Sharing one perfect night together each year helped Livvy Kane and Nicholas Chandler forget the tragedy that haunted their pasts—and the last names that made them enemies. Until the night she didn't show up. Now, as Nicholas tries to move on, Livvy's sudden reappearance sets him off balance.

Long-Distance Lovers

Sustaining love from far away is challenging. And writing a steamy romance about a long-distance relationship may be even more difficult! But we've found some passionate love stories about darlings who defy the distance.

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
As in November 9, this YA novel features sweethearts who make a connection just before being parted. Natasha and Daniel meet just twelve hours before her family is to be deported to Jamaica. A relationship seems impossible. But can their love prevail? This book has been adapted into a moving 2019 film.

Landing by Emma Donoghue
Síle is a Dublin-based flight attendant who loves traveling the world. Jude is a twenty-five-year-old archivist, firmly attached to her tiny hometown in Ontario. On her first plane trip, Jude's world collides with Síle's and soon both must consider the question: What would you give up for love?

The Wedding Date by Jasmine Guillory
After meeting while stuck in an elevator together, Alexa agrees to pretend to pose as Drew's girlfriend at his ex's wedding the next day. The "date" turns out to be more fun than they ever thought possible. Returning to their regular lives hundreds of miles apart, they find they can't stop thinking of each other.

With and Without You by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka
When her longtime boyfriend says his family is moving away, high school senior Siena isn't too upset. She had been planning to break up for college anyway. She agrees to try staying together thinking it won't work out. But she's surprised to find that the distance actually seems to be rekindling their love.

Dear John by Nicholas Sparks
An angry rebel when he joined the army, John's life is transformed by love when he meets Savannah. After his tour of duty, they plan a life together. Then 9/11 happens. John's reenlistment and the renewed separation leads to a breaking point. The poignant adaptation stars Channing Tatum and Amanda Seyfried.

All the longing! All the missing! All the passion! We just love stories like this that give us a good case of all the feels. Let us know if you have any similarly themed romances to add to the list.

Follow us on Facebook, TikTok, and Instagram to connect with a community of readers like you and get daily book recommendations, literary tidbits, and more.

Read more by Ashly Moore Sheldon

Leave a Comment

Copyright © 2022 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured