Skip to content
Hardcover Where the Crawdads Sing Book

ISBN: 0735219095

ISBN13: 9780735219090

Where the Crawdads Sing

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Acceptable*

*Best Available: (ex-library)

$5.79
Save $20.21!
List Price $26.00

1 Available

Book Overview

#1 New York Times Bestseller More than 4 million copies sold A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick "I can't even express how much I love this book I didn't want this story to end "--Reese Witherspoon "Painfully beautiful."-- The New York Times Book Review "Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."-- Bustle For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome...

Customer Reviews

41 ratings

So comforting

This was an amazing book. Kya’s strong love of nature and her wildness were relatable for me, that I felt like I knew her. Great story line and characters.

Simply AMAZING

This is the best book I’ve ever read. I finished it in 2-3 days while I was at the beach. I wish I could erase it from my memory so I could re-read it for the first time again. So so good! I highly recommend!

Couldn't put it down!

This book was wonderful. It kept my attention through every stage of Kya's life! I laughed, and definitely cried at some parts. It was humbling to read and I will read it again!

Great beginning, but then...

I was loving the 1st half of this book but then it started to lose me. Court hearings are not what I like to read about. Good story though

Great book! Many life lesssons

Well-written, great story and characters, many life lessons. Really enjoyed this book!

10/10 would recommend

Honestly, one of the best books I have ever read. One of a kind original, but still appealing to universal themes of love, loneliness, and nature. You need to read this.

It will suck you in.

So easy to finish in a day. The storyline sucks you win and you can’t stop turning the pages.

Incredible!

I could not put this book down! The writing is incredible, the story beautiful, and the descriptions captivating. I have been chasing this quality of writing since I finished the book. A similar book might be Before We Were Yours.

incredible book

i could not set this book down and read it within two days. it is truly entrancing and paints such beautiful images of nature

Loved this book!

This book hooked me from the first page and I couldn’t put it down until I finished. This isn’t the type of book I would normally read but I absolutely loved it. The author told a tale of friendship, survival, heartbreak, and romance. I absolutely loved the ending. I would recommend this book to any and everyone.

It will be a good movie.

Kind of slow in the beginning and became a bit predictable yet it is a good story. The imagery is very descriptive...I could see in my mind a perfect picture of the marshlands. All in all I enjoyed the book.

the best

Where the Crawdads Sing is my all-time favorite book. I am not sure what it is about it, but I just love it so much! That being said, the ending wrapped up a little too quickly for my liking, so I was all little disappointed. Probably just because I didn't want it to end! Definitely recommend to everyone.

Extraordinary !

I've been an avid reader for over 50 years. Best book I've ever read . It's a must read , especially if your Southern.

Please dont end

I read this book in 10 hrs. I did not want the story to end. Beautiful writing. Some twist plots. Highly recommend.

Wow

Coming from a teenager who doesn’t usually enjoy reading, this book was hard to put down! Such a good plot, I feel in love with the characters, and I cannot wait for the movie to come out!!

A great read!

This book will stay with you a long while. A year since reading it I still find myself thinking of how this or that worked.

Didn’t really enjoy

Some love it, some don’t. I found it very hard to finish. But I forced myself.

Where The Crawdads Sing was ...

my favorite novel of the many I read in 2020 (and I'm never without a novel.) Plot, characterization, descriptions, mood, were beyond excellent. Written with such passion, creating so much intrigue, simply superb in every sense of that word. Every moment of reading that great novel was precious. It has been months since I finished it and I still think of it often. The characters were so vivid that they still live on in memory. Do not miss this extraordinary reading experience.

Now a favorite

Excellent book-I was left wishing there was more when I came to the end. I am normally more of a fantasy and sci-fi gal but this one was riveting.

Great read!

Loved this - had me hooked from the begining.

Beautifully Written

I couldn’t put this book down and finished it in about 2 nights of reading. Heartbreaking and beautiful. The way the author writes so descriptively, colloquially, and poetically really transports you. Highly recommend.

Captivating

A solid read. The story, description, and characters are fantastically portrayed. I wouldn't be surprised if they turn this is into a movie. Couldn't put it down

My favorite

This is my favorite book at the moment. I loved the imagery. And the ending :-O

One of the best books I have ever read.

Loved this book! The characters come alive from the first pages and you will feel you are part of the story. The author tells a beautiful and sad tale of the coming of age of a young girl fighting for her place in the world. I can honestly say that this is one of the most intense, gripping tales that will stay with me for a very long time. And the ending!!!! Thank you Delia Owens for a wonderful experience!

Where the Crawdads sing

If you are looking for a gem. Look no further. This book will keep you up late at night reading. Very good!

Half and half!

I really enjoyed the first half of the book, reading about the main character’s difficult childhood. It felt authentic through the eyes of a child dealing with loss, neglect, and discrimination. You can really feel her pain and understand why she hides from companionship, yet seeks the feeling of belonging. The second half was a little predictable and cheesy. It lost some of the authenticity and deep feelings, alternating between murder mystery and romance. The ending made it feel like a book that I enjoyed but won’t consider a “must read” for a friend.

Where The Crawdads Sing is the best book that I have read in years.

Excellent beyond describing. Heartfelt, sad, inspiring, must read. Great for families and nature lovers.

Great book

I was sorry this book had an ending. Just one of those books that you didn’t want it to end. Enjoy!

No words

I sometimes don’t like best sellers, they tend to not live up to the hype. But not this book. No, this book will stay with me for a very long time. Absolutely wonderful. Beautifully written, descriptive, sad and happy all at once. Truly a magnificent book.

Achingly lovely

A good book makes your heart ache a little, but leaves you feeling like you've just witnessed something beautiful. This book is exactly that - an artful work that pulls at your heart strings. My favorite read this year.

Must Read

What a beautiful book. It had a bit of everything, mystery, romance, coming of age... even a biology lesson or two. Can’t recommend this book enough.

Incredible!

This book was absolutely phenomenal. I could not put it down and I couldn’t stop talking about it when I wasn’t reading it! The characters, the writing, the setting, the plot - everything was perfect! This is high on the list of my favorite books and I am still sad that it’s over. I was suggested The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah as a book similar to Where The Crawdads Sing, but it does not compare. Honestly, nothing compares to this book!

Where the crawdads sing.

Wow great book had me crying, laughing, shocked, relieved, all of these emotions are found in this book.

Very different but so good.

This is an excellent book. It was so fascinating all the way through. And what an ending!

Love this book

I loved loved this book I borrowed it from somebody but I will need to buy it after I read it . I will want to read it again for sure later.

Just loved it!

The detailed description of her surroundings and environment built the characters and showed a painfully beautiful coming of age story with suspense through the second half. Could not put the book down.

Where the Crawdads Sing is bound to be a classic.

"Where the Crawdads Sing" is a book I could not put down. Thank goodness I was on vacation when I began to read it. The plot, the storyline, the eloquent descriptions are all linked together so well. You will feel like you're right there with the Marsh girl in her boat or marsh. I cannot wait for Delia Owens' next novel!

Where the Crawdads sing

This book is very well written and keeps you suspended in a mindset of, "What is going to happen next?" You never see the ending coming.

couldn't put it down!

I loved how much detail Delia Owens put into the rural, coastal setting of Where the Crawdads Sing. This book is beautiful, heartbreaking, infuriating, heartfelt and surprising. I read it in one setting. Absolutely couldn't put it down and couldn't hardly wait to discuss it with friends. I didn't have it figured out half way through the way I often do with well liked book club type books. I found this book fresh and all consuming. This is one I'll recommend time and time again.

A must read!

Very well written. The author makes you feel like your in the marsh with the characters! Can’t wait for this author to write more books!

Wonderful

Very well written. I was very surprised with the ending.

Where the Crawdads Sing Mentions in Our Blog

Where the Crawdads Sing in Sold, Viewed, Playful, New
Sold, Viewed, Playful, New
Published by Terry Fleming • March 26, 2021

Welcome to Sold, Viewed, Playful, New, where we spotlight popular/fascinating/favorite items in four distinct categories. Sold, for used books. Viewed, for DVDs or Blu-rays. Playful, for board, card, or video games. And New, for new books. Check out our selections—we're sure you'll find something to intrigue you!

Where the Crawdads Sing in Earth Day Indoors?
Earth Day Indoors?
Published by Ashly Moore Sheldon • April 22, 2020

For many of us Earth Day is a holiday that might involve a hike in our favorite state park or a visit to a nearby beach. But in the time of Covid-19, this may not be possible. If you're feeling housebound and looking for a way to experience nature, here are some great earthy reads for all ages.

Copyright © 2020 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured