Skip to content

When Darkness Falls (The Obsidian Trilogy, Book 3)

(Part of the Obsidian Mountain (#3) Series and Obsidian Universe (#3) Series)

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon


Format: Mass Market Paperback

Condition: Good

Save $4.70!
List Price $8.99
Only 6 Left

Book Overview

Despite a great working of Wild Magic and High Magic that struck at the heart of the Demon Queen's evil plots, Knight-Mage Kellen and his Elven allies are still seen as enemies by the human Mage... This description may be from another edition of this product.

Customer Reviews

5 ratings

Amazing and unexped conclusion

WOW! Hard to put down! The characters and plots were well developed throughout this trillogy. This was an amazing conclusion that wraped up the continuing stories nicely. While additional volumes could be written about several of the characters, each story was wrapped-up in a way that does not require additional explalation, you may want more, but you don't need it to feel things are closed. A new chapter for this world is ready to begin, but it would be the begining of a new era, not a continuation of this one.

Her Best Series Yet

This was may favorite Lacey book ever. The whole series was excellent but the third book really hit the mark. Without giving anything away the book got better as it progressed and the ending was very enjoyable. I have read several other Lackey books and I always thought they were above average but this series really raised my opinion of her skills. I was looking for something to read after several Terry Brook's series, George R.R. Martins "Fire and Ice" books, Jennifer Fallons "Second Sons Trilogy", and several Robin Hobb books. This book delivered. I hope you treat yourself to the entire series.

A great trilogy

I'm not going into story details, since it's been done already. I'm going to write about the trilogy as a whole instead of just this last book. Okay, the story wasn't terribly original (but then, what is nowadays?) but it was so well told that I didn't care. I could hardly tell that it was written by two writers. (The giveaway was that one of the characters was described once as having horns that swept back over her head, while in another book she was described as having shorter horns. But, why quibble?) It's hard to come up with something original these days, so I look at quality of writing instead of looking for the next Tolkien. Not alot happens at the beginning of the first book, but the writing is so good that you're sucked in anyway. Not only that, but it's a trilogy. The story actually ended! There could be more written after this book, but the story itself wrapped up nicely. There's usually a love story angle in fantasy books and this one has two of them. One was handled quite well, while the other was hardly touched on. Personally, I wish there was more of that and just a little less action. Did I mention that the first book started slow? Well, after the first third of the first book, the action picks up and hardly stops. The action is described very well. I got all three books at the same time and I couldn't stop reading until it was done. I don't buy hardbacks until I've read the book and find that I really like it. I'll be picking up the hardcover editions of all three of these books. Plus I need to start reading more Mercedes Lackey books!

Great suspense

Book three is the final book of the Obsidian Trilogy. It takes up where To Light A Candle left off with the Allies fighting the minions of the Endarkened and trying to find a way to stop the War of Spirit that the Demons are waging. The main characters from the first two books are all here, but the antagonists from Armethaliah are played down and really barely seen in this book at all. Knowledge of the enemy comes to us more from the eyes of the Light trying to find out what they are planning, than from the omnipotent view from the author. This book, more so than the other two, builds suspense because we are not in on so much of the secrets as we were in the first two books. We find out pretty much at the same time they do what is happening. I found it thrilling and I couldn't put it down, but I am biased as Mercedes Lackey is one of my favorite writers. On the other hand, The Outstretched Shadow was the first book of hers that I actually read, and that caused me to start reading her other works so... It is imaginative, and moving and I recommend it to anyone that likes fantasy. Outstretched Shadow is the first book. To Light a Candle is the second.

Sorry to have it end!!!!

This is the last book in the Obsidian Trilogy. I couldn't wait to read but wanted to savor it too. This book was slow at the beggining but it sped up as I remembered everyone. I hate to describe anything for fear of giving things away! This story ends the war between the Enlightend and the Endarkend. But I shan't say who wins! The first book in this series is To Light A Candle, then the Outstretched Shadow, the this one When Darkness Falls. If you enjoy the tradtional fairy tales with unicorns, dragon's and elves then you'll love this series! Please read and enjoy!
Copyright © 2023 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell/Share My Personal Information | Cookie Policy | Cookie Preferences | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured