Skip to content
Hardcover We Are the Brennans Book

ISBN: 1250796229

ISBN13: 9781250796226

We Are the Brennans

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Recommended

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Very Good

$4.69
Save $22.30!
List Price $26.99
Almost Gone, Only 2 Left!

Book Overview

**INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**

In the vein of Mary Beth Keane's Ask Again, Yes and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney's The Nest,
Tracey Lange's We Are the Brennans explores the staying power of shame--and the redemptive power of love--in an Irish Catholic family torn apart by secrets.

When twenty-nine-year-old Sunday Brennan wakes up in a Los Angeles hospital, bruised and battered after...

Related Subjects

Fiction Literature & Fiction

Customer Reviews

2 ratings

Chock-full of Intense Family Drama

I received an Advanced Reader's Copy of this title in exchange for an honest review. This is a spoiler free review. I genuinely wanted to like this book more, especially when I saw comparisons to Ask Again Yes and that it was picked for one of the 5 monthly books from Book of the Month. That being said, I was kind of disappointed that it didn't suck me in more. This book opens up with the reader finding themselves in the middle of the Brennan Family drama. There are secrets abound that you slowly begin to unravel as the story goes on. These secrets are tearing the family and their business apart from the inside. However, I personally did not find the secrets to be all that earth shattering. I also tend to agree with some other reviewers who stated that the overall pacing of the story could have been better. Some things seemed to be way too drawn out while others seemed much too rushed. I also had some difficulty keeping every straight but that may have simply been down to me not being interested enough to stay focused.

Well-crafted emotional family drama

Sunday is the only daughter in a big, close knit, Irish American family living near NYC. Five years ago, she suddenly and mysteriously ran off to LA, abandoning her fiancé and family. She is forced to return home, after a DUI leading to an accident, in which she is badly injured. She must confront the secrets and consequences that she was hoping to avoid by running away years ago. She is not the only member of the family with something to hide, whether it is a long buried secret or a current deception. The story flows smoothly from chapter to chapter through multiple points of view, so that the reader experiences the unfolding of events through each character's eyes. These perspectives help build the tension and allow the reader to connect and empathize with the characters. The storylines were intense and emotional with unexpected twists and turns, creating a real page-turner. It is hard to believe this well-crafted family drama is written by a debut author. @CeladonBooks #partner #CeladonReads #WeAreTheBrennans #BookishFirst

We Are the Brennans Mentions in Our Blog

We Are the Brennans in 21 August Releases We're Excited About
21 August Releases We're Excited About
Published by Ashly Moore Sheldon • August 01, 2023

No matter how long our TBR lists get, we're always finding new titles we want to tack on! Here are 21 exciting August releases available for preorder, along with suggestions for similar reads you can enjoy right away.

We Are the Brennans in 15 Book Releases We're Excited About This Month
15 Book Releases We're Excited About This Month
Published by Ashly Moore Sheldon • July 29, 2021

Our TBR shelves are already packed, but that doesn’t stop us from browsing (and buying!) new books! Here are 15 August releases you can preorder, along with suggestions for similar books you can pick up right now.

Copyright © 2023 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell/Share My Personal Information | Cookie Policy | Cookie Preferences | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured