Skip to content
Paperback This Is How It Starts Book

ISBN: 1416595597

ISBN13: 9781416595595

This Is How It Starts

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Acceptable*

*Best Available: (missing dust jacket)

$5.69
Save $13.30!
List Price $18.99

1 Available

Book Overview

in the tradition of Jay McInerney, Grant Ginder's phenomenal debut novel follows one post-collegiate idealist on his quest to fit in with--and then distance himself from--capital hill's up-andcoming political and social elite who work hard but play harder. - Striking debut: echoing with razor-sharp commentary, This Is How It Starts deftly captures the escapades of D.C.'s moneyed, socially and politically connected recent graduates. In this Bright...

Customer Reviews

5 ratings

Fantastic debut

Ginder has managed to pen a fantastic debut novel. I picked it "TIHIS" without expectations and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the story. The writing is engaging and the book reads like a dream. I found myself heavily involved in the character's fates and was honestly a bit disappointed when I turned to the last page, not because of a soft ending, but because the story was complete. I'd recommend this book to anyone out for a good drama-fest, and for anyone looking to discover a fresh, new storyteller. With this debut, Ginder's clearly carving out a exciting future for himself as an author, so it's probably best to jump on the bandwagon now.

A book that truly captures a moment ...

Grant Ginder's 'This is How it Starts' is a truly exceptional debut. The novel is the story of a young man struggling to find his moral North amidst the decadence and immorality of Washington, DC, set firmly at (what we now know is) the moment directly preceding the 'second fall of the Roman Empire.' With strong bildungsroman elements throughout the novel, Ginder skillfully shows us Taylor Mark's steps and missteps as he develops into the man he has no idea how to become. It is a rare novel in that both the plot and the characters are gripping, and the two work in tandem to move the story forward. I wish there were more books like this around: I can't wait for the author's next.

Great summer read; smart, insightful coming of age story

I found this novel highly entertaining and witty. Much credit to Grant Ginder for creating very compelling characters and drawing the reader into the world of Washington D.C. twenty-somethings. Smart, funny, witty and a refreshing perspective of the fast paced social life of capital hill. A fantastic summer read.

Great

Grant's book is just the right balance of witty observation and good storytelling. He observes like Wolfe and bites like Wilde but does it in an accessible fashion, and creates and develops characters that are both realistic and poignant. It's a window on to the urban haute bourgeois of our nation's capital that shouldn't be missed.

Great book!

"This is how it starts" takes off starting with the first page and never slows down. I couldn't put it down! Main character Taylor Mark's journey treats the reader to an inside view of the Washington political scene and the highly entertaining characters that exist within that world. The book captures the energy, insanity, and absurd amounts of privilege bestowed upon the young and connected. I recommend that everyone add this to their summer reading list!
Copyright © 2022 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Cookie Preferences | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured