Skip to content
Paperback The Ship of Brides Book

ISBN: 0143126474

ISBN13: 9780143126478

The Ship of Brides

Select Format:

Select Condition:

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Very Good

$4.69
Save $11.31!
List Price $16.00

1 Available

Book Overview

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You , After You , and Still Me , in an earlier work available in the U.S. for the first time, a post-WWII story of the war brides who crossed the seas by the thousands to face their unknown futures. 1946. World War II has ended and all over the world, young women are beginning to fulfill the promises made to the men they wed in wartime. In Sydney, Australia, four women join 650 other war brides...

Customer Reviews

3 ratings

I Enjoyed the Trip

This book made me feel like I was among the anxious girls of this voyage. It was such an exciting and emotional time for them. I can only imagine how terrified they must have been to cross the globe, leaving their family and country to start a new life with a man that they possibly married out of impulse. And the "Not Wanted", telegrams were heart wretching. And I loved the anticipation that we felt throughtout the novel, wondering who the grandmother turned out to be, and who the focus of the story shifted towards. I loved the surprises and twists that this novel provided. Highly recommended for those who want a bit of history with the added bonus of a surprising romance. I am ready to embark on more of her books.

Totally Engaging Saga

The Ship of Brides is one of the most engaging novles I have read in many years. I had no idea the British navy ships transported foreign war brides to England as one of their last duties after World War II. Each of the four cabin mates/brides has a unique and fascinating background that brings her to the HMS Victorious, a worn out aircraft carrier almost limping home. The friction and friendships between the girls and their antics with the men on board keep the story moving at a marvelous pace. I listened to it on CDs read by Nicolette McKenzie, who is a wizard with British and Australian accents. I hated it to end, feel like I lost my best friends. I am thrilled to see that JoJo Moyes has written other books and plan to read them as soon as possible.

Loved this book

I loved everything about this book, from the first page to the last. I first became acquainted with Ms. Moyes' work when I bought SHELTERING RAIN and quickly discovered she wrote in the tradition of Marcia Willette, Rosamund Pilcher, and the early works of Maeve Binchy. I immediately ordered the rest of her available books and THE SHIP OF BRIDES was one of them. Based on a true story of Australian war brides shipped to England via an aircraft carrier, it is simply enthralling. The four main female characters are a study in contrasts, but the reader quickly becomes deeply enmeshed in their lives, their hopes, and their fears. Even the least likable of the women is sympathetic because of what they are facing. I hated for this book to end. It's just the kind of richly detailed, beautifully researched, fascinating story filled with drama and wonderfully realized characters that I constantly search for and too seldom find. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Copyright © 2019 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured