Skip to content
Paperback The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics Book

ISBN: 0143125478

ISBN13: 9780143125471

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

(Part of the The Boys in The Boat Series)

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Very Good

$4.79
Save $13.21!
List Price $18.00

57 Available

Book Overview

The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about the American Olympic rowing triumph in Nazi Germany--from the author of Facing the Mountain. Soon to be a major motion picture directed by George Clooney For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed...

Customer Reviews

7 ratings

Gold Medal book

From start to finish, The Boys in the Boat is a truly inspiring story. I recommend listening to the audiobook too. Narrator Edward Herrmann's perfect elocution made me enjoy the story even more.

Recommend to all

This is a compelling work that artfully conveys the slow, character-forming experiences of many years alongside thrilling race antics. I’ve given three copies away to friends already. Read it.

great book

Love this book. Perfect condition . Love the fast shipping. Teaches one to work hard and dream. In spite of hardships like WW2, faith , friends and perseverance keep the team together.

OMG what a book. It should be mandatory reading for all rowers! This team ascended to the pinnacle o

What a group of kids who overcame adversity to row and row as one. . It shows what it was like for people during the Depression. I have the book and the audio book. PBS has a video of this team. A must compliment to the book. As a former rower, this is one of my favorite rower memorabilia next to my team jacket.

Incredible Olympic story of perseverance during tough times in American history.

I've recently gained a physical exercise interest in rowing but know so little about the sport and it's origins. My interests in rowing (indoor) have exponentially increased since reading this book. An incredible look at a great Olympic story of perseverance tied into one of the most difficult times in American history. I'll definitely be re-reading this book again in the future.

One of the Best Books of the Ones I have Read this Year.

This was very interesting book. I love true stories and all the things in the background. It was so good. I even felt like I was in the boat with the boys!

***** Inspiring.

I passed this wonderful book on to a friend whose son is thinking about taking on rowing as his high school sport. Rowing is a fantastic vehicle to build a fine young man who has a thought he's like to try, knows how to build it and work for it and strive to succeed!

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics Mentions in Our Blog

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics in Read-Aloud Books for Everyone!
Read-Aloud Books for Everyone!
Published by Ashly Moore Sheldon • November 08, 2019

Reading aloud isn't just for kids. Everyone benefits from the simple, calming act of picking up a book and enjoying a story together. It is especially important in this age of frantic, electronic, distraction. We have become so accustomed to the constant cacophony of our devices, we forget how important it is to unplug.

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics in 20 Must-Read Picks for Every Book Club
20 Must-Read Picks for Every Book Club
Published by Violet • July 31, 2019
Choosing a book for your book club to read can be challenging. You want books that are thought-provoking and intelligent but still approachable. To get you started, we've put together a list of 20 sure-fire conversation starters, ranging from the best contemporary literature to historical fiction, memoirs, and history.
Copyright © 2022 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured