Skip to content
Hardcover Life in Rewind: The Story of a Young Courageous Man Who Persevered Over OCD and the Harvard Doctor Who Broke All the Rules to Help Him Book

ISBN: 0061561533

ISBN13: 9780061561535

Life in Rewind: The Story of a Young Courageous Man Who Persevered Over OCD and the Harvard Doctor Who Broke All the Rules to Help Him

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Recommended

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Good

$5.59
Save $19.40!
List Price $24.99
Almost Gone, Only 1 Left!

Book Overview

"A surprising tale of success by medical science confronted with a nearly insurmountable disorder. Well-rounded, powerful, and inspirational."--Kirkus Reviews In the vein of Manic and Girl,... This description may be from another edition of this product.

Customer Reviews

5 ratings

Very honest story

OCD is a very difficult condition to treat. Each case is unique and even talented and passionate doctors often fail. Ed Zine's case was actually one of the failures. Famous OCD specialist Dr. Michael A. Jenike broke all the rules to help Ed Zine including driving 6hours to visit Ed's house for 3 years. Despite the best treatment possible, Ed's condition didn't become better. Dr. Jenike failed and shed tears for Ed. He is extraordinary doctors, but even he was defeated by OCD's power. What I liked the best about this book is the honesty. When Terry Weible Murphy approached Dr. Jenike, he himself introduced Ed's case to her. Because Dr. Jenike was proud of Ed's achievement. Ed recovered by himself after Dr. Jenike failed! Dr. Jenike states that he still doesn't know why Ed recovered, but we feel Ed did it because he wanted to honor Dr. Jenike's friendship. This honest story gives OCD patients more hope than doctors'glorious success stories. I really, really loved this book.

Gut Wrenching and Gorgeous

Fascinating topic, fascinating people, and a fabulous writer. The book takes the reader through the deepest and darkest corners of OCD and back out again. Thank you for writing this. I am sure that it will help someone somewhere who has OCD as well. You all did a great job on this.

MUST READ IF FRIEND/FAMILY HAS OCD

This book is a must read for friends and family of anybody who suffers from OCD. It will give the insight required to understand the illogical power of this ailment upon the sufferer. It will bring you to view their behaivour in a whole new light so you can help your loved one conquer this disabling disease. I truly appreciate being able to share his experiences and recovery.

This book touched the deepest, most intimate core of my heart.

When my copy of "Life in Rewind" came in the mail this week I couldn't put it down. I could have read the entire book the first day, but I had to space it out over three days because it was so incredibly emotional for me. This is about an EXTRAORDINARILY severe case of OCD and what it can do to someone. It is a heart wrenching and remarkable story about ED Zine and his enormous struggle and courage to overcome his OCD. It is also an extraordinary story about the most Extraordinary doctor and human being I have ever known, Dr. Michael Jenike. It is an incredible story of hope, determination and inspiration. Reading this book will help people gain great insight into this torturous illness and just what it can do to those of us with OCD as well as our families and those who love us. It's about trust, both in being someone others can trust, as well as what an incredible gift it is to have someone you can trust. Both the book and OCD is about how having the courage to trust can change your life for the better. It is also a touhing story about the value of friendship. This book reminds us of the difference one person can make in someone's life and it will restore your faith in mankind. My heart aches for those who continue to suffer in silence with OCD. Thank you Terry Murphy for caring and writing this book SO well and to Ed and Dr. J for sharing your very personal stories with all of us. This book touched the deepest, most intimate core of my heart. No doubt, this should and will be made into a movie.

The best Non- Fiction story of the year!

This story about a young man, Ed Zine, whose life spiraled into a mental illness so profound he actually believed he could stop the progression of time by living his life in reverse - including walking, talking, and reading, is one of the most heart warming stories I have ever read. The progression of his life and the Harvard doctor who worked with him by breaking the rules of traditional medicine and offering all he has left to give - his friendship-- is astounding. This friendship becomes the unexpected catalyst for healing and produces an ending that only Hollywood could invent. But the story is true. I totally recomend this book.
Copyright © 2023 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell/Share My Personal Information | Cookie Policy | Cookie Preferences | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured