Skip to content
Paperback The Truth about Mr. Darcy Book

ISBN: 1402246137

ISBN13: 9781402246135

The Truth about Mr. Darcy

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$7.99
Save $7.00!
List Price $14.99

3 Available

Book Overview

A sexy, compelling Pride & Prejudice " what if"-perfect for fans of Death Comes to Pemberley . The truth always has consequences...... Mr. Darcy has a dilemma. Should he tell the truth about his old nemesis George Wickham in order to protect the good citizens of Meryton from Wickham's lies and deceits? Doing so will force Darcy to reveal family secrets that he'd prefer never come to light. The alternative is keeping the man's criminal nature to himself...

Customer Reviews

6 ratings

Too much heavy petting and not enough plot

Kissing and passionate looks get very boring after a while, I can only take so much before I feel like I'm reading the same thing over and over. Get to the story! I love these characters and want to see them developed. I want to read other alternate endings and realities for them, not spend page after page of them petting and flushing.

Fantastic I could not put this book down

I liked the idea that Mr Darcy did not walk away but warned the people around what sort of person Wickham was. I also liked the fact that he was a very passionate man. The way he defended Lizzy and Georgiana when Wickham said those things to him by nearly strangling the life out of him. Also how he searched and found Lydia when they had eloped. How he became more of a father to her helping her get over the emotional upset of this. It is such a wonderful read I can recommend this to anyone who loves the Pride and prejudice story.

very enjoyable to read

It should not disappoint you when you look for Pride and Prejudice related stories. The author wrote a truly romantic story, full of mush, and sensual love scenes, definitely not for minors. This book is both touching and funny, but above all very well written.

A delightful book!

This is a great book. I had the pleasure of reading it before it was published, and I'm delighted that it's now available to everyone. Like my Pemberley Variations, it's a variation on Pride & Prejudice. It picks up on one of those missed opportunities in Jane Austen's original, when Darcy discovers that Elizabeth Bennet has met Wickham and chooses not to tell her the truth about him. In this book, Darcy stops and informs Elizabeth of Wickham's true nature, and a very different outcome occurs. We get to witness Darcy's anger at Wickham first hand, and later a touching and romantic scene where Elizabeth shows the power of her understanding, and her willingness to see into the truth of Darcy's heart. It's a great premise - I wish I'd thought of it! Susan Adriani does an excellent job exploring it and giving us new reasons to love Darcy and Elizabeth. It made me think about Darcy's motivations in the original, which is always fun. Affinity & Affection is a very enjoyable read by a talented newcomer to the field, and a pleasure for those of us who can never have enough Elizabeth and Darcy.

You Must Read This

Susan has captured such an emotional Darcy with this tale. Though it is a what if, it is definitly worth the read. Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy have never been better suited for one another. I would highly recommend this to any reader, you do not have to know Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice to understand it, you just need to love romance. Excellent read, quick and emotional. I will cherish my copy and reread it often. This is a brilliant new author worth your time and the investiment.

A beautiful story

Whether your passion is Jane Austen or simply the great desire to read a beautiful love story, Affinity and Affection will employ your imagination in a most gratifying way. Susan Adriani's skillful retelling of the familiar tale of Pride and Prejudice allows the reader to fall into the glorious scenery that her imagery paints. It is more than the emotional response of a man who is deeply in love with the woman of his dreams, and the awakening of her love for him; it is the response of the couple, together facing the trials from family and foes, which is the true jewel of this story. It is a pleasure to read, again and again.
Copyright © 2020 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured