Skip to content
Hardcover A Dress for the Wicked Book

ISBN: 0062857339

ISBN13: 9780062857330

A Dress for the Wicked

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Recommended

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Like New

$7.59
Save $10.40!
List Price $17.99
Almost Gone, Only 1 Left!

Book Overview

Betrayal has never been so fashionable than in Autumn Krause's glamorous debut, perfect for fans of The Belles and The Luxe.

True to its name, the sleepy town of Shy in Avon-upon-Kynt is a place where nothing much happens. And for eighteen years, Emmaline Watkins has feared that her future held just that: nothing.

But when the head of the most admired fashion house in the country opens her prestigious design competition...

Customer Reviews

1 rating

This book was great!! Devil Meets Prada-esque with its own unique awesomeness! Lots of high fashion

Wow, guys. I wasn’t prepared for how good this book was! And I had just finished a really awesome book when I started this one too, so I can be critical in moments like that. But I can’t think of anything I didn’t like about this book! This was a very fashionable tale about obstacles, perseverance, girl power, romance in the most unexpected places, and finding your place in the world. SPOILER-FREE SUMMARY When Emmaline “Emmy” Watkins is given a chance to compete in the prestigious and previously “city girl only” Fashion House Interview competition against five other girls, she sees this as an opportunity to change her life for the better and get out of her small town where nothing ever happens or changes. However, in the Fashion House under Madame Jolène, she faces obstacles at every turn, from sabotage to the real reason she was chosen to compete at the Fashion House. She has to decide and come to terms with just how far she will go to pave her own way as a designer - stitch by stitch. This was a light and easy read that easily sucked me into the small country of Britannia Secunda and Emmy’s hometown Shy. We are immediately pulled into the story, as it starts with her initial interview with Madame Jolène to get into the Fashion House Interview competition. I liked that touch, being pulled into the action of the story immediately. We got enough insight on Emmy’s life at home before she goes to the city of Avon-upon-Kynt to live in the Fashion House as well. The intro and world building was easily and quickly set up and I followed along without trouble. I really loved the descriptions of the characters and the way the nitty gritty, aches, sweats and discomfort of everyday life was included in the writing. It brought the characters to life for me. There is also some mild romance, some unexpected friendships and partnerships, as well as a plot twist villain that I did not expect. There’s also obsession, darkness, jealousy, secrets, lies, some mother daughter bonding and a pretty happy ending! I def recommend this one!
Copyright © 2023 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell/Share My Personal Information | Cookie Policy | Cookie Preferences | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured