Skip to content

2023 National Book Awards Longlist

Every book nominated for the prestigious literary prize this year

By Amanda Cleveland • September 17, 2023

Presented by the National Book Foundation, the National Book Awards celebrate the best writing in America. Every year, a winner is chosen in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young people's literature. The National Book Awards were first established in 1950 and ever since have seen to it that the best writing in American be celebrated.

Every year a panel of 25 judges is selected, with judges specializing in different categories, to read all submitted books in their category. The judges then narrow those choices down to the longlist, five finalists, and then the ultimate winner of their category. Finalists receive $1,000 and a medal, the five winners receive a prize of $10,000 and a bronze sculpture. When an author has been honored by the awards, they become a lifelong member of the National Book Foundation.

Last year's top prizes went to:

This year's winners will be announced in November. In the meantime, here is a full list of all titles on the National Book Awards 2023 longlist.



Literature in Translation


Young People's Literature

Congratulations to every writer nominated this year for this prestigious honor, and to the teams that helped bring these fifty brilliant new books to the world. This longlist will be narrowed down to five finalists in October. This year's winners will be announced in an awards ceremony November 15. We can't wait!

Read more by Amanda Cleveland

Leave a Comment

Copyright © 2023 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell/Share My Personal Information | Cookie Policy | Cookie Preferences | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured