Skip to content

10 December Books We're Excited to Read

And What You Can Read in the Meantime

By Ashly Moore Sheldon • December 02, 2020

Reading Ahead

As we head into winter, there's nothing we like so much as curling up with a good novel. (Admittedly, we always seem to feel this way.) From crime thrillers to paranormal romances to historical dramas, this month's book releases include some enticing titles indeed. A few of these came out on the first of the month, so they're already available! (But don't worry, we'll still include a previously published suggestion as well.)

December 1

The Cousins by Karen McManus

Miley, Aubrey, and Jonah Story are cousins who barely know each other in this YA thriller. Their parents were disinherited by their wealthy grandmother before they were born. When the three are invited to spend a summer on her island resort, their parents insist they must do what they can to get back in her good graces.

What to read first: Teen Killers Club by Lily Sparks

How to Fail at Flirting by Denise Williams

Professor Naya Turner is due for some good luck. Her abusive ex-boyfriend has just turned up as a new hire at her university and now her flailing department is on the chopping block. When she meets Jake, a charming stranger, it seems like things might finally be going her way. But it's complicated.

What to read first: Spoiler Alert by Olivia Dade

King of the Rising by Kacen Callender

In this searing conclusion to a Caribbean-inspired fantasy, former slave Loren Jannik is leading the revolution for freedom. But the rebels are running out of food, weapons and options. And Loren is faced with a choice that could shift the course of the revolution in their favor—or doom it to failure.

What to read first: Queen of the Conquered by Kacen Callender

December 8

Layla by Colleen Hoover

A twisty paranormal thriller that offers up plenty of gasp-worthy moments. When Leeds meets Layla, he's convinced he'll spend the rest of his life with her. But after an unexpected attack has Layla fighting for her life, while she recovers physically, she's not quite the same woman Leeds fell in love with.

What to read first: Don't Look for Me by Wendy Walker

The Mermaid From Jeju by Sumi Hahn

In the tradition of Yangsze Choo's Night Tiger and Min Jin Lee's Pachinko comes a magical saga exploring the meaning of love. In the aftermath of World War II, Goh Junja is a girl just coming into her own. But family hardships and political strife leave her navigating a tumultuous world unlike anything she's ever known

What to read first: The Night Tiger by Yangsze Choo

The System by Ryan Gattis

This electrifying, multi-voiced thriller plays out in the streets, precincts, jails, and courtrooms of Los Angeles. It's a harrowing story of a crime—from moments before the bullets are fired, to the verdict and its violent aftershocks—told through the vivid chorus of the guilty, the innocent, and everyone in between.

What to read first: All Involved by Ryan Gattis

The Tiger Came Down the Mountain by Nghi Vo

The second book in the Singing Hills Cycle series is a lush standalone fantasy. The cleric Chih finds themself and their companions at the mercy of a band of fierce tigers who ache with hunger. To stay alive until the mammoths can save them, Chih must unwind the intricate, layered story of the tiger and her lover.

What to read first: The Empress of Salt and Fortune by Nghi Vo

December 29

The Chanel Sisters by Judithe Little

Abandoned at a young age, Antoinette and Gabrielle "Coco" Chanel know they're destined for something better than the simple lives they are being prepared for. Their journey propels them out of poverty to a small hat shop in Paris on a path to gather the courage they need to fashion their own place in the world.

What to read first: The Woman Before Wallis by Bryn Turnbull

The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict

A thrilling reconstruction of one of the most notorious events in literary history: In December 1926, Agatha Christie goes missing. Eleven days later, she reappears, claiming amnesia and providing no explanations for her time away. The puzzle of those missing eleven days has persisted. What happened?

What to read first: The Secrets We Kept by Lara Prescott

The Wrong Family by Tarryn Fisher

Retired therapist Juno thought her friend Winnie Crouch had a perfect family and a perfect life. But after moving in with them, she begins to see the cracks in the crumbling facade. Still, she isn't one to judge. And she really shouldn't get involved. After all, she has secrets of her own. A taut psychological thriller.

What to read first: The Wives by Tarryn Fisher

Hopefully there's something here that piques your interest! Let us know which new books you're most excited about this month. And be sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for daily book recommendations, literary tidbits, and more.

Read more by Ashly Moore Sheldon

Leave a Comment

Copyright © 2022 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured