Skip to content
Paperback Servant:Revelation of the Leadership of the Monastery (In Chinese) Book

ISBN: 9576679400

ISBN13: 9789576679407

Servant:Revelation of the Leadership of the Monastery (In Chinese)

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Acceptable

$23.69

1 Available

Book Overview

This description may be from another edition of this product. With an introduction on using the principles of The Servant in your life and career, this book redefines what it means to be a leader. In this absorbing tale, you watch the timeless principles of...

Customer Reviews

5 ratings

Inspiring. Insightful. Illuminating. Illustrative.

"The Servant" is the story of John Daily, a coach, father, and manager who seemingly has it all together. But beneath the surface, the wheels have begun to fall off his life. Many of us will be able to see ourselves in him: driven, worldly, ambitious, anxious; a wreck waiting to happen. John goes to a "retreat" at a monastery in a search for answers to those questions of his life, the missing pieces of his heart. At the hands of Brother Simeon and five other attendees, John discovers insights and treasures about life, leadership, and himself. In the tradition of Og Mandino, John Wooden and John Maxwell, this is a book about leadership and love. Much more than a self-help manual or a touchy-feely-go-nowhere narrative, this work defines and redefines principles of leadership, influence, authority, power, relationship, and, yes, love. Though based on a Christian foundation (Brother Simeon is a believer), it avoids being preachy or overtly religious. It lessons are universal in application and timeless in relevance. "The Servant" unveils hard truths about ourselves and ourselves in the workplace. It suggests a new paradigm of leadership: servant leadership; that upside-down paradox which declares that to be a true leader, one must serve. It is this paradox of faith, this foundational truth gives the book its power. Imagine a corporation where its leadership is based on: patience, kindness, humility, respectfulness, selflessness, forgiveness, honesty, and commitment. This definition can't be found in an MBA textbook - it is taken from 1 Corinthians 13. These same characteristics which define good leadership also define love. Whether you are a senior manager or independent contractor; distinguished leader or stay-at-home mom, there is depth and delight awaiting you in this book. It is all about love.

Muy Bueno y facil de leer

Reune grandes ideas y conocimiento aplicable a la vida laboral y del hogar. Un gran libro con ideas muy claras sobre como ser un verdadero lider y de esta forma un lider que logre resultados

A Phenomenal Guide About Leadership

I recently read the 180 pages of this book and was deeply impacted by the message it shared. Other reviews discuss the setting of its parable, and how it is told. I'd like to share a bit about its message and how it touched me.The main concept of the book is that there is a distinct difference between authority and power.POWER = The ability to force others, by virtue of your position over them, to do what you wish them to do.AUTHORITY = The ability to have others voluntarily do what you wish them to do as a result of the nature of your relationship with them.The book then discusses in great depth how to develop authority with those we have accepted the role to lead. The concepts are simple, yet overwhelming in their depth. If you are one that wishes to learn to develop more power in your various roles of leadership (within the home, at work, or any other group), then this book is an invaluable tool. A paradigm shift waiting to happen for only 16 dollars!

A must read for every Leader heading into the millenium

The Servant is an incredibly simple and gentle story that reveals wisdom above and beyond the leadership training that is going on in boardrooms across North America today. Business is changing, and with it the needed characteristics of our leaders must change also. Gone are the days when the dictator...or the technical manager could drive a company forward to success. What it takes now is someone who can serve in a very powerful and affirming way. James C. Hunter reveals such a leader in the reverant atmosphere of a monastary...and in the capable hands of a humble monk with a passion for God and people. James' story calls out the servant within all of us. It will change how you think...and more importantly...how you lead.

A must-read for everyone 8 to 80 that isn't already perfect.

The Servant -- A ReviewEveryone serves. Some more than others. It is impossible to not serve either yourself, someone else or something else. The Servant - written by James C. Hunter, simply illustrates this fundamental of successful living in an easy-to-read, hard-to-put-down allegory about leadership through servanthood. These 187 pages are super-saturated with wisdom that can be absorbed by a grade-schooler. In fact, most of us have already learned the principles contained in this book, from our schoolteachers, our religious faith, our family and our friends. We need not to be taught so much as to be reminded.Simeon, a monk whose chief role is to teach through servant leadership, achieves this task (as supporting protagonist) by gaining authority through altruism. Although told through the experiences of a fictitious "once-successful" businessman, John Daily, the story is about each one of our own natural inclinations, natures and choices. A cast of other supporting characters designed to symbolize a wide demographic variety proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that the only villain in this story is self.If you're interested in reading this book or giving it as a gift to either your staff, peers, family or friend, it will make an impression. If you're interested in improving relationships, this book is a must-read. You could spend a great deal more than $14.95(US) to get this kind of direction from other sources.Donald Davis Business Development Manager Franklynn Industries, Inc.
Copyright © 2020 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured