Skip to content

The Music Lesson: A Spiritual Search for Growth Through Music

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Like New

$11.09
Save $4.91!
List Price $16.00

1 Available

Book Overview

(Book). From Grammy-winning musical icon and legendary bassist Victor L. Wooten comes The Music Lesson, the story of a struggling young musician who wanted music to be his life, and who wanted his... This description may be from another edition of this product.

Customer Reviews

4 ratings

A Very Creative Way to Say It

I've read and reviewed a book by another musician, Kenny Werner, called 'Effortless Mastery'. Some of the things covered in that book are touched upon in Victor's book, The Music Lesson. However, I must say that Victor has certainly found a way to show us the intangibles of music while demystifying so much of what holds we musicians back from really playing. His treatise on music brings to the fore important elements not usually emphasized in a practicing musician's learning. I found the book to be extremely practical while completely engrossing. Victor's decided approach to the subject at hand is unique, clever, and enjoyable. Much like his character in the book (Victor Wooten), I can't remember the last time I had so much fun learning the 'abc's' of music and more to the point, life itself! One last comment about the book which I am surprised no one else has mentioned (at least if they did I missed it), and that is the proximity of one Jaco Pastorius to the Michael character. I find myself wanting to ask, is Michael Jaco? I am amazed that that question doesn't seem to be answered at all in the book's pages (again, unless I missed it). Then again, maybe it is so obvious, it is I who am a fool for bringing it up. Either way, I highly recommend this book for a really great read.

Music + Love = Victor Wooten

Victor Wooten weaves a lyrical yarn that is simple and pure in language and deep in the beautiful mystery of the spirit. Not just about music, this book reminds me of Richard Bach's classic "Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah." A must for musicians and artists, and those who like to think and explore and dig a little deeper into their souls. Download the podcast of Victor's interview with Bob Edwards on XM radio for a great companion experience.

A Magical Revelation of Music Herself

Before you read this book, open your mind to the possibility that the universe may be very different from your version of reality. This is not a book about music theory or how to play the bass. It is a wonderful and playful revelation about the relationship between Music and your life. Both will change for the better if you are willing to leave behind what you already think you know. Victor weaves an unbelievably believable tale which unites ideas about space, time, numbers, and nature into a new view of Music as a living, breathing being. Fans of Richard Bach and Tom Brown, Jr., will enjoy this new perspective on their work. Frankly, music players who are uncomfortable away from the written page of music will be uncomfortable with this book. Improvisors of all kinds will know you have come home.

A Practical Guide to Experiencing Music

I was a bit turned off by the sub-title. I have very little interest in the spiritual perspective of the world's greatest bass player. I was grateful that I could read the first chapter online, which sets the tone for the entire book. The Music Lesson is a fun, entertaining exploration of music from a fictional perspective. There are many important lessons and ideas about music in each chapter. Many of these lessons trigger more questions than answers, which is Victor's way of expressing the importance of self-discovery and "finding your own voice". I was blessed to attend one of Victor's Bass / Nature camps, so I was able to experience Victor's approach to inspiring others to experience music. I learned to get past my academic background of music theory and explore music with the mind of a child. I still recommend learning theory, but also recommend this book as a fun read and an opportunity to think of music in a refreshing light.
Copyright © 2022 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured