Skip to content

The Icebound Land (Ranger's Apprentice #3)

(Book #3 in the Ranger's Apprentice Series)

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon


Format: Hardcover

Condition: Good*

*Best Available: (missing dust jacket)

Save $13.90!
List Price $18.99

1 Available

Book Overview

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone ! Kidnapped after the fierce battle with Lord Morgarath, Will and Evanlyn are bound for Skandia as captives... This description may be from another edition of this product.

Customer Reviews

5 ratings

Rangers Apprentice; Icebound Land, John Flannagan

Absorbing from the first chapter. The whole series is excellent, especially for reluctant boy readers, but appeals to all. I race my son to the new book at release - and break my own rule of no hardbacks because I can't wait that long to read it! Frustrating to know there are more of the series available in Australia but good to know its on-going since we're not ready to see the end of this character. Am hoping the instructor, Holt is going to stay in evidence. I love how childhood friends and enemy's take on a new and often changed role as life goes on, and look out for each other's safety. Highly recommend the whole series

Great read for kids of all ages

Like Harry Potter, Ranger's Apprentice is written with kids in mind but is enjoyable by all ages. Kids will find themselves drawn into the story while parents will enjoy knowing their children are learning the values of honesty, friendship, and accountability - or are re-enforcing those attributes. The first story begins with a young 15 year old boy (Will) who is an orphan. He dreams of going to battleschool and becoming a knight like he believes his father was before his death. However, life has another path in store for our young hero ...and it's a great one indeed. Filled with horrible creatures, battles, knights, damsels in distress, cool horses, etc. this series will keep the interest of even the most anxious of boys and girls. The characters are all believable and well written. Just be sure to start with book one!

Edge of your seat, can't-put-it-down-kinda good!

I found this book to be just as good as the first two in the series, maybe even better! The first books took a while to get into the action and adventure, but since the last one cut off so suddenly, this book started to get interesting very early on. Some of the parts got to a point that a character would have a plan of some sort, and all you (the reader) wanted to do was get to the next chapter to see how it would work out. I really was on the edge of my seat wanting to get back to the book all the time!

A Page Turner...

The best book in the series so far....Couldn't put the book down till I finished it. The book ends in suspense and leaves you waiting for the next one.

From word one to the cliffhanger, it is a great read

Australian author Flanagan originally wrote this series to encourage his twelve-year-old son to love reading. The Ruins of Gorlan is Book One, and The Burning Bridge is Book Two. The setting is vaguely medieval Europe, with interesting details of battle, weapons, and character. Rangers are a branch of service to the King of Araluen, skilled at woodcraft and longbow, and many people think they have a command of magic. Halt is a skilled Ranger, one of the best. He can disappear into a tree (or give that impression) and can fire a fatal arrow in seconds, even through the eye slit in a knight's visor. His apprentice, Will, and the young girl Evanlyn have escaped unscathed from a terrible battle, only to be caught by a raiding party of Skandians led by Jarl Erak. Halt is not allowed to go after them, so he arranges for the King to banish him for treasonous comments made in public, and he and the young knight Horace set off to Gallica, to find Will. The chapters alternate between the stories of Will and Evanlyn as prisoners with the Skandians, and Horace and Halt on their trip through Gallica. Halt is old and very wise. He is able to teach the young knight Horace a thing or two about strategy and honor on their travels. Will is able to help Evanlyn during the short sojourn on the island of Skorghijl, waiting out the winter storms with the raiding party, and also keep up his spirits and fitness. But when they return to Jarl Erak's home of Hallasholm, Evanlyn is made a house slave, and Will becomes a yard slave, toiling in terrible cold until he becomes addicted to warmweed, and forgets who he is. Jarl Erak respects Will's bravery and skill, and hates to see him addicted and treated so poorly. He decides to help Will and Evanlyn try to escape. This adventurous series is designed with cliffhangers at the end. You will definitely want to read the coming books. Book Four is coming out in March of 2008 - I can hardly wait. Armchair Interviews says: Wonderful young adult book for all to enjoy.
Copyright © 2023 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Cookie Preferences | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured