Skip to content
Paperback I Don't Care about Your Band: What I Learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Se Nsitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I've Book

ISBN: 1592405614

ISBN13: 9781592405619

I Don't Care about Your Band: What I Learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Se Nsitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I've

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Very Good

$4.69
Save $10.31!
List Price $15.00

1 Available

Book Overview

Read Julie Klausner's posts on the Penguin Blog In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care About Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love--and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage. I Don't Care About Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks...

Customer Reviews

5 ratings

Funny, laden with memories.

Most of us chicks have been there, done that. And this book chronicles that exact thing. It's a great read and I laughed out loud many times. I can't recommend it enough, along with Girl Power: The Nineties Revolution in Music.

So far, the funniest book of February 2010

I loved it! Ms. Klausner hits it out of the park. "It" being my funnybone! Rather filthy, though.

let's start our own band, and care about it instead!

If you don't like this book, you are probably a dude in a band who is defensive and probably didn't get past the title page, or you are a groupie dating someone in a band and haven't evolved enough emotionally to "get it." The point of this book, despite first appearances, is not to call guys losers because they're in bands or what have you - the point is to encourage young women to focus their attention on their own pursuits, making themselves the center of their universe - rather than some guy they probably don't even care that much about, or who they definitely wished they hadn't cared about given the benefit of hindsight. Writing as someone who wasted most of her 20's infatuated with many a "dude" who didn't deserve my precious youthful skin, let alone time, energy or worship, I wish this book had been around then. It's not a self-help book, it's a self-awareness book. A self-cherish book. It's like The Writer's Way without the homework and required discipline. It's like a sleep-over with a friend who has girrrrrrrl, sooooo been there, and now pretty much has what you want. I personally want a do-over on many of my 20's dating choices, and this time I will appreciate the elasticity in my skin and wash my face every night, and not wake up depressed because some loser isn't into me. But in lieu of a time-machine, I'll take a cup of cocoa and Klausner.

High-larious

I loved this book. I knew a little about Ms. Klausner when I picked this up, but after finishing, I'm a fan for life. Although the caring part of me wanted to spare her the horrors contained within the book, the larger, more callous part chortled, snorted, gasped with laughter, and on more than one occasion, had to remove my glasses to wipe tears of laughter away. It's still early in the year, but I'm going to go ahead and call I DON'T CARE ABOUT YOUR BAND the funniest book of 2010.

My favorite book of 2010 -- A perfect Valentine's Day gift

What can I say? I LOVED this book. If you are a fellow comedy nerd that enjoys the likes of David and Amy Sedaris, Paul F. Tompkins, and John Hodgman, you will not be disappointed. When I first picked up my wife's reviewer's copy I expected an entertaining bit of chick lit, and ended up stumbling upon my favorite memoir set in the time that I went to high school and college. It was like getting a chance to peek through the diaries of the girls I dated in my teens and twenties (albeit much funnier, wiser, and insightful). I recommend that any guy who reads this review buy a copy for the special lady in your life for Valentine's Day (unless, perhaps, that lady happens to be your mom). I look forward to hearing and reading more from Julie in the years to come.
Copyright © 2022 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured